Nothing Found for ""

Sorry, but nothing matches your search terms
Please try again with some different keywords

Home to oil drillers and wheat farmers for generations, Oklahoma's land may be hosting a whole new industry thanks to recently enacted law. Oklahoma State Question 788 (SQ 788), which was approved by voters on June 26, 2018, has legalized medical marijuana use in the state. But before you run out and start digging your yard up to plant some weed, there are a few things you should know.

Where and How to Buy

Medical marijuana dispensaries are now open for business. Medical marijuana patients, designated caregivers, and authorized cannabis researchers must register with the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) and have a valid registry identification card to legally purchase medical cannabis. License holders must be 18 or older. There is an exception for patients younger than 18, though. The minor applicant, parent or legal guardian must submit recommendations from two physicians dated within 30 days of each other in addition to parents' signatures. If the person submitting the application is the legal guardian, he or she must also submit documentation to prove legal guardianship.

Patients are allowed to grow their own cannabis or designate a caregiver to grow it on their behalf. They are allowed up to six mature and six seedling plants for home cultivation.

Recreational marijuana use and retail sales are currently illegal.

How to Consume

Oklahoma's new law allows individuals with a state-issued medical marijuana license to legally possess up to 3 ounces, or 85 grams, of medical marijuana flower; six mature plants; six seedling plants; 1 ounce, or 28.35 grams, of concentrate; 72 ounces, or 2 kilograms, of edibles; and up to 8 ounces, or 226.8 grams, in their residence. Cannabis can be consumed in a private place, such as a residence, by medical marijuana patients.

What Isn't Allowed

Recreational use is not permitted. The new law did reduce possession charges from up to $1,000, or even a year in jail, to a fine up to $400 and no jail time. But that's only if patients are found possessing up to 1.5 ounces, or 42.5 grams, of marijuana without a license and can tell authorities the medical condition.

Public marijuana use is not allowed. Neither is operating any vehicle – even a bicycle – while under the influence of marijuana. Drivers and passengers can never use marijuana while in a vehicle.

First-Time Use

As a patient, ask plenty of questions when purchasing cannabis at a medical marijuana dispensary. There are many different potencies, types and forms of cannabis, and some products may work better for certain conditions. No matter what kind you get, always start slow and increase your dose gradually.

Cannabis Legalization in Oklahoma

The current state of a recreational marijuana initiative is in flux. Green the Vote collected petition signatures to get State Question 797 (SQ 797) on the November 2018 ballot. SQ 797 would amend the state constitution to legalize recreational marijuana use and sales for those 21 and over. However, the group fell short by more than 20,000 signatures. The office of the Secretary of State sent a findings report to the state Supreme Court for a final determination. The Secretary of State confirmed the petition failed to meet the required number of signatures.  

Topics

What to read next